Performed through music, narration and illustrations, Merregnon: Land of Silence presents the wonder of the symphony to a whole new audience.


Merregnon: Land of Silence is an original symphonic fairy tale, created for School and Family Concerts. Following in the tradition of timeless classics such as Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf and Saint-Saens’ Carnival of the Animals, it features exclusive music by internationally renowned composer Yoko Shimomura, known for her work on multi-million selling video games such as Super Mario RPG, Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy XV.

For Merregnon: Land of Silence, Yoko Shimomura has tailored a melody for each of the story’s characters. Her score demonstrates a lavish diversity of sound and has been penned to complement the various orchestral sections and their soloists.

Hikito col playing

Merregnon: Land of Silence tells the symphonic fairy tale of orphan Miru, who embarks on an adventure to discover why her land is cloaked in mysterious silence.

Miru col playing 03

Says Yoko Shimomura: “It’s a great honour to be asked to compose for an orchestra, and I’m particularly pleased and excited to be involved in the Merregnon: Land of Silence project. Creating something that children and young people will enjoy is always a rewarding challenge, and together with the charming story and beautiful artwork I hope we will inspire a brand new generation of orchestral and classical music fans.”

Merregnon: Land of Silence will take listeners on a magical journey of musical adventures when it premieres in Stockholm, March 9, 2021 at the Konserthuset Stockholm, with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.


Newsletter subscription

If you'd like to be the first to know about any future Merregnon: Land of Silence concerts why not sign up to our free newsletter? It's the easiest and fastest way to find out what we're up to.

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any e-mail you receive from us, or by contacting us at info© We will treat your information with respect. We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By registering, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

Note: Due to technical reasons it may take a moment before our e-mail arrives. You will have to confirm your wish to be added to our mailing list. If you do not receive our e-mail, please check your spam folder.

Mako col sitting 02


International Management & Promotion
Shannen Liu & Gregor Kotow
Schiffgraben 59 · D-30175 Hannover · Germany

E-mail: shannen© · Phone: +49 511 47416545 ·

© & ℗ 1999-2020 Merregnon Studios.
Created and produced by Thomas Böcker.

Music composed by Yoko Shimomura.
Arranged by Yasunori Nishiki and Michael Fuchs. Concert arrangement by Jonne Valtonen.
Story written by Frauke Angel.
Original character design and illustration by Tan Zhi Hui. Additional character design and illustration by Sun Creature Studio.
Logo and website design by